Services for the Government of Canada

Online Catalogue of Government of Canada Publications

Overview

Publishing and Depository Services (PDS) maintains a central database of Government of Canada publications that is searchable and available to the public. All institutions of the Government of Canada identified in Schedules I, I.1 and II of the Financial Administration Act are obligated to provide their portable electronic publications to PDS as per the Procedures for Publishing. We also welcome participation from other Government of Canada institutions.

Information to Include in Publications

In accordance with section 6.7 of the new TBS Procedures for Publishing, the following information is required when producing publications:

  1. the departmental signature or the Government of Canada signature and the Canada Wordmark, as specified in the Policy on Communications and Federal Identity;
  2. the title must be clearly stated, preferably on a separate title page and must not be associated or presented with graphic design elements or other typography that are not part of the title; except for the official symbols of the Government of Canada;
  3. the date of the publication;
  4. a statement of availability of other accessible formats (e.g. electronic edition);
  5. a copyright notice;
  6. when there are separate English and French versions of a publication, the available notice of the other language appears on the page following the title page;
  7. the Government of Canada catalogue number, if applicable;
  8. the departmental catalogue number, if applicable; and
  9. the appropriate ISBN or ISSN.

Updated: 2013-09-17

Copyright notices in Government of Canada publications should be in the following format:

© Her Majesty the Queen in Right of Canada, as represented by the Minister of [legal name of GC department], [year of publication]

For example: © Her Majesty the Queen in Right of Canada, as represented by the Minister of Public Works and Government Services Canada, 2013

ISBNs and Catalogue Numbers

We're responsible for assigning ISBN and Catalogue Numbers to Government of Canada publications. If you're publishing Government of Canada information for public consumption or limited circulation, then you'll need the appropriate control numbers for your publication – regardless of the medium.

Find out about ISBN and Catalogue Numbers

Apply for an ISBN and Catalogue Number

Depository Services Program

The Depository Services Program (DSP) catalogue publications from Government of Canada departments and agencies. All publications are catalogued by the DSP and are searchable in our online catalogue. There are no costs to authoring institutions for cataloguing, this is done at our expense. Departments and agencies need only provide us with a single copie of any electronic publications in portable electronic format.

For more information, please contact us, or you can read more about the DSP.

Digitizing Print Publications

If you are a department or agency with Government of Canada print publications that you would like to digitize, the Document Imaging Solutions Centre (DISC) at PWGSC can help you with that. DISC digitizes millions of pages a year for Government of Canada clients, and is able to provide output in various formats, including PDF. Optical character recognition is also available, and can make your digitized documents searchable and more accessible.

While DISC is best equipped to process large batches of documents, DISC will help you find an external service provider to image smaller paper collections through the standing offers that are already available to Government of Canada departments in the National Capital Area. You can contact DISC at imagerie.imaging@tpsgc-pwgsc.gc.ca to discuss your document imaging options at no charge, and they will recommend the solution that best suits your needs from the available options.

At Publishing and Depository Services, we strive to provide a digital collection of Government of Canada publications that is as comprehensive as possible. If you have or plan to produce electronic versions of Government of Canada publications in PDF format that are not currently available in our catalogue, please contact us to discuss integrating them into our collection.

Services pour le gouvernement du Canada

Catalogue en ligne des publications du gouvernement du Canada

Aperçu

Éditions et Services de dépôt (ESD) maintient une base de données centrale des publications du gouvernement du Canada qui est consultable et disponible au public. Toutes les institutions du gouvernement du Canada identifiées dans les Listes I, I.1 et II de la Loi sur la gestion des finances publiques sont obligées de fournir leurs publications en format électronique portable à ESD conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada et aux nouvelles Procédures sur l'édition du Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor du Canada (SCT). Nous encourageons la participation des autres institutions du gouvernement du Canada.

Renseignements à incorporer dans les publications

En accord avec l'exigence 6.7 des nouvelles Procédures sur l'édition du SCT, l'information qui suit est requise lors de la production de publications :

  1. la signature ministérielle ou la signature du gouvernement du Canada et l'image de marque tel que précisé dans la Politique sur le programme de coordination de l'image de marque;
  2. le titre doit être clairement énoncé, préférablement sur une page titre séparée et ne doit pas être associé ou présenté avec des éléments graphiques ou toute autre typographie qui ne font pas partie du titre; sauf les symboles officiels du gouvernement du Canada;
  3. la date de la publication;
  4. un énoncé de disponibilité d'autres formats accessibles (p. ex. édition électronique);
  5. un Format de l'avis de droit d'auteur;
  6. lorsqu'il existe une version anglaise et une version française d'une publication, l'avis de disponibilité de la version dans l'autre langue apparaît à la page suivante de la page titre;
  7. le numéro de catalogue du gouvernement du Canada s'il y a lieu;
  8. le numéro de catalogue du ministère, s'il y a lieu; et
  9. l'ISBN ou l'ISSN approprié

Avis de droit d'auteur

Mise à jour : 2013-09-17

Les avis de droit d'auteur dans les publications du gouvernement du Canada devraient être dans le format suivant :

© Sa Majesté la Reine du chef du Canada, représentée par le ministre de [appellation légale de l'institution du GC], [année]

Par exemple : © Sa Majesté la Reine du chef du Canada, représentée par le ministre de Travaux publics et Services gouvernementaux Canada, 2013

Numéros ISBN et numéros de catalogue

Nous sommes chargés d'assigner des numéros ISBN et des numéros de catalogue aux publications du gouvernement du Canada. Si vous publiez de l'information du gouvernement du Canada destinée à la diffusion au public ou à une diffusion limitée, vous aurez besoin des numéros de contrôle appropriés pour votre publication – quel que soit le support.

Renseignements sur les ISBN et les numéros de catalogue

Demander un ISBN et un numéro de catalogue

Programme des services de dépôt

Le Programme des services de dépôt (PSD) catalogue les publications du gouvernement du Canada des ministères et agences. Toutes les publications sont cataloguées par le PSD et peuvent être trouvées dans notre catalogue en ligne. Il n'y a aucun coût pour les ministères auteurs pour le catalogage, ceci est fait à nos frais. Les ministères et les agences doivent seulement nous fournir qu'un exemplaire en format électronique portable de toutes leurs publications électroniques.

Pour plus d'information, veuillez nous contacter ou vous pouvez lire davantage au sujet du PSD.

Numérisation des publications imprimées

Si vous êtes un ministère ou un organisme du gouvernement du Canada et avez des publications que vous aimeriez numériser, sachez que le Centre de solutions en imagerie documentaire (CSID) à TPSGC peut vous aider. CSID numérise des millions de pages par annés pour ses clients du gouvernement du Canada et fournit des données dans différents formats, incluant le PDF. La reconnaissance optique de caractères est aussi disponible et permet de rendre vos documents consultables et plus accessibles.

Même si CSID est mieux outillé pour procéder de grosses quantités de documents, CSID peut vous aider à trouver un fournisseur de services à l'externe à travers le système d'offres à commande disponible pour les ministères du gouvernement du Canada dans la région de la capitale nationale pour imager de petites collections imprimées. Vous pouvez communiquer directement avec CSID à imagerie.imaging@tpsgc-pwgsc.gc.ca pour discuter sans frais de vos options d'imagerie pour vos documents et CSID vous recommandera la meilleure solution pour répondre à vos besoins selon les options disponibles.

Chez Éditions et Services de dépôt, notre but est de fournir une collection numérique des publications du gouvernement du Canada la plus exhaustive possible. Si vous avez produit ou prévoyez produire des versions électroniques des publications du gouvernement du Canada en format PDF et quel celles-ci ne sont pas dans notre catalogue, veuillez nous contacter pour discuter de leur intégration à notre collection.